2009 – Here We Come

 
Opp.jpg picture by Viviobluerex

Yesterday was the first day of 2009.

I managed to find peace and solace at the most unexpected place and with a great companion.
You will never believed the noisiest place can be the most quietest place sometimes. How ironical right?

Today mark the start of working in 2009. New policies and directives will kick in from today.
While 90% of the ad agencies and media agencies are on long leave, today is the day to recollect ourselves from the merry-making and set our direction right.

Last night, I was informed that an online media company announced Pay Cut on New Year’s Eve. I was shocked. Everyone got a 10% Pay Cut and the newest sales person gotten a flat $700 pay cut. Company cited loses and meantime also recruiting more people. How ironical. The mockery of the whole exercise simply do not make any sense or of any logic.

Announce Pay Cut on a New Year Eve?
– Dampen everyone’s spirit when everyone is in the mood for celebration?


Pay Cut as "2008 Making Loses"?
– 2008 had been a good year for many companies, unless 2009 directly affect their sales, if not, there is no reason to cut pay right?

Newest Staff gets $700 cut?
– The newest staff in fact should get the least pay cut, why? By giving the newest staff the most pay cut is the most discouraging right?

Making Loses and yet recruiting new staff?
– This company thinks their staff are dumb? Cut their pay and use the extra funds to recruit more new staff? In fact this is more discouraging than anything, the new staff (oblivious to what exactly happened) will suffer when they join. Go figure.

Personally I pity the lady who happened to be the "newest staff", and the most unfairly treated.

If the company can do this now to her, just imagine what else this online media company can do to her when ad spend plunges in the coming 12 months.

If I was her, I would have kick the boss’s ass and pack my things.

At least I have pride.

I urge media companies (Including media owners & agencies) not to use the recession to remove staff or cut pay citing bullish reasons.

Work out your sums and try to retain as many talents (if they really are) as possible. In fact, during recession, this is the best time to show your staff how the company cares for them even in bad times and in return, you get the most loyal and hardworking staff money can employ.

Remember, staff are people, people have feelings, feelings includes positive & negative, negative translate into grudges, a grudges means a broken bridge, a broken means one day you will meet them again, when you meet them again, you will get it.

I wish everyone working in the media industry to have a good start, stay positive and perservere on.

Happy 2009 – Here We Come.
______________________________________________
On Singapore Roads
* Met 9 Road Idiots Since my last Blog.
* Total 1410 Road Idiots Encountered on SG Roads.
– (Congrats to SGF2894J Champaign Nissan Latio, You are the 1,000th Idiot)
– SFU7550B Champaign Nissan Sunny, I will hunt you down, Bitch.
Wish List
* More "Media Free Play" from The Government.
* More Media Associations to represent local media owners.
* All Road Hoggers MUST DIE & All Reckless Bikers Dead.

* Please tell me where can I dine without the presense of PRCs!
* Foreign Talents or Foreign Troublemakers? We shall see.
Click The Below Link Please
Technorati Profile
Add to Technorati Favorites
Free Traffic Tools!
http://www.free1000000clicks.com/?Turbo130
http://alphainventions.com/

5 thoughts on “2009 – Here We Come

  1. Totally ridiculous! The company is stupid. If I will her, I think I hold a grudge in my heart. I won’t be sincere to the new staff. Worse if I will to train him/her, haha…i don’t think I will give them the right direction. After all, human nature – I put in effort and hit my target every month yet cut my pay to pay new staffs and ASK ME TO TRAIN THEM?! Fat HOPE!!!

  2. The company has already lose the most important asset which is loyalty. Let’s hope that the company is alway doing well. If not one day the company need the staff support, they will definitely turn their back toward him. Having a paid cut to assist the company to overcome the recession is alright. But using that as an excuses, NO WAY. Perhaps he might lose more than what he thought he’s going to earn. There’s alway be retribution. What’s goes around comes around.

  3. Everytime something goes wrong, low and mid level always got the hardest blow. The top never do nor scarifies for anything. Times are good they increase their own pay. Time are bad, they cut the lower and mid level pay. Stupid is a Stupid does.

  4. You hit the point. While most are using this ‘down time’ as an opportunity. Some companies motivate their employees to work harder by keeping the unity of going thru ‘thick n thin’ together. While others uses this ‘down time’ to threaten their employees by keeping their doors open, challenging them that will be no greener pasture. Obviously, as an employee… Who will you wanna work for? In scenario 2, regardless if i am the one being threaten, or my colleagues. I will too, keep my options open as job security is very important to me. I must be able to feel that the company i work for is worthwhile my efforts. Understand that retrenchment or pay cut may be unavoidable to prevent a ‘fall’, but to see an effort to keep that as the last option is VERY IMPORTANT. my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

