Overheard At A Coffeeshop Table

 
Following the speech by our Prime Minister, Mr. HL Lee…….

At a Coffee Shop somewhere in the west of Singapore. Two men dressed in shirt & tie were chatting over coffee in a mixed English-Hokkien fashion, they both looked like businessmen to me. I sat on the table right next to them as that was the only table available. While enjoying my coffee fix, I heard a part of the conversation
(as usual, i activated my voice recorder);

Man1 : You heard about it? 4 months maternity leave for female now! Wah Jia lat!
Man2 : Ya lor, he already say on TV that day mah. Bo bian, he say only, but we suffer.
Man1 : Like that who dares to employ female staff? It will cause another problem for the economy you know?
Man2 : Like?
Man1 : Unemployment Rate will shoot up! 4 months maternity is a killer for companies you know? Siao ah!
Man2 : How leh?
Man1 : Ok, imagine 1 female staff, her pay is about $2500, with CPF added in is about $3325 per female staff.
Man1 : Then if this female staff goes on 4 months maternity, it will be $3335 x 4 months, that works out to $13300 per female staff!
Man2 : Wah Jia Lat! You count like dat very scary, imagine $13300 down the drain.
Man1 : Ya! And by making it so "attractive" females will want to give birth more often. Since they are getting 12 months salary for working only 8 months!
Man2 : I see your point. Wah lau! If the female staff decide to have 3 children, 1 per year then we all die liao!!!
Man1 : Ya lah! You see, 4 months maternity per child, if the female staff have 1 child per year for consecutively 3 years, that means she work 2 years get 3 years salary!!! (4 months per child x 3 child = 12 months maternity over 3 years period) That means potentially we lost $39900 per female staff sia!!!!! KNN!
Man2 : Wah, let me count, I got 10 female staff, if they all go give birth consecutively for 3 years each… I will lost $399000!!!!! I can fucking buy many things with that money!!!!! Think I will stop employing female staff from now on. I better tell my HR ASAP.
Man1 : Ya! I already told my HR to stop employing female staff. But have to be subtle, if not surely will get complained for discrimination.
Man2 : Ya ya, be careful. Sighz, I pity the females sia….
Man1 : Oh, by the way you remember what Lee’s dad once said?
Man2 : Ya lah. "2’s Enough".
Both : Hahahahahahahaahahahaahahaaha……

After I left the coffee shop, something in their conversation make sense. Singapore is having problem right now as the number of babies is not sufficient to "replace" the existing population. If this trend continues, the whole island will be filled with foreign talents already. If that happens, I’d rather let the foreign talents have my place and I will migrate away to somewhere more peaceful, away from the ERP, COE, Taxes, Levies and Fees every corner you turn in Singapore. But shortage of people is something money cannot really solved. In the first place why people are not inclined to have more babies? In a stressful economy like Singapore, money is number one, family is number two, who can we blame?

Time is better spent making money than making babies.

4 Months Maternity is not making any business sense. If what the 2 businessmen had speculated comes true, more social problem will arise.

For me, I will try to make sure I employ more males from now on.

It’s not discrimination.

It’s survival.
____________________________________________________
On Singapore Roads
* Met 0 Road Idiots Since my last Blog.
* Total 1008 Road Idiots Encountered on SG Roads. 
 
– (Congrats to SGF2894J Champaign Nissan Latio – You are the 1000th Idiot)  

Wish List
* More "Media Free Play" from The Government.
* More Media Associations to represent local media owners.

* All Road Hoggers Dead.
* All Reckless Bikers Dead.
* For God’s Sake Clean Up Trash On Public Roads, esp AYE.
* Petrol Companies are Profiteering yet Authorities Don’t Care.
* No Roadworks during Peak Hours Please!

* Please tell me where can I dine without the presense of PRCs!
* Foreign Talents or Foreign Troublemakers? We shall see.

Leave a Reply

