Depressed Week

 
I was over the moon 3 days ago when I found out that my team had achieved the group sales target for last month.
I was even happier that my team had achieve 3 times the sales amount for the same period last year.

Sadly, that was the only 2 source of happiness for the whole week.

The last week had been intense. Been running around attending to landlord meetings, doing renewals, attend an industry award judging, close a few major accounts, terminated a staff, interviewing new staff then things got even more worse when I realized I got backstabbed by someone in the company, been accused of politics, got shouted at and even made to do report that I spend a night doing only to be rejected by the person who requested for it the next morning and not specifying what exactly he wanted from the start.

Today, my HR Director had a chat with me. She made me look at myself comparing the present and at the same time last year. She was very encouraging, direct and not pretentious. Only then I came to terms with myself that I had changed a lot, in terms of working style, and of course expectations. The session was an opportunity for me to explain myself for many misunderstandings that had happened over the last 2 weeks. I am convinced that I am "Badly misunderstood"!

All that had happened really got into me. It drained me, depressed me and set me thinking about it and wasting precious time & energy.

I am very tired; I even entertained the thoughts of leaving the company to join another OOH media whom is very keen on recruiting me with 2 times the salary that I am currently getting. Sigh, I even started regretting not taking up an offer that came to me late last year for a regional posting to Hong Kong as a GM for a News company. Regrets, regrets & regrets. Sometimes I really wonder if people really appreciate me for who I am and for what I had contributed to the company. And something along with the events that had happened this week also dropped hints of someone is trying (again) to manage my department as a signage company even though our main focus is Outdoor Media. I was hoping for someone to teach me how to run a Media company like a sign-making company, if this someone ever exists.

I told my HR director today (and my Executive Director yesterday) that all I wanted was a simple goal of making sure the companies that I worked and working for, to grow. I take ownership in running this company. That is the best testimonial to one’s strength which I strongly (and still) believe. I’ve been through the darkest of days in the media industry and this week simply rakes up the sad past for me. I am almost going to cry, but I am not going to allow that to happen.

I have not given up yet.

DEPRESSION_edited.jpg picture by Viviobluerex
*Picture Courtesy of http://whimsical-lady.blogspot.com/

I am human, I cry too.

I am so Jaded.

Have a nice weekend, mine’s ruined.
_______________________________________________

On Singapore Roads
* Met 4 Road Idiots Since my last Blog.
* Total 606 Road Idiots Encountered on SG Roads. 
   

Wish List
* More "Media Free Play" from The Government.
* Form more Media Associations to represent local media owners.

* All Road Hoggers Dead.
* For God’s Sake Clean Up Trash On Public Roads.
* Petrol Companies are Profiteering yet Authorities Don’t Care.
* No more roadworks during Peak Hours!
* Please tell me where can I dine without the presense of PRCs!
* Foreign Talents or Foreign Troublemakers? We shall see.
Leave a Reply

